Wednesday, November 1, 2017

Pulotsav sweetens the kitty for two young actors

Virendra Chitrav

PUNE: Standing tall among the cast members of Feroz Khan's stage adaptation of Mughal-e-Azam, Priyanka Barve, who portrays Anarkali, proves that no dream is too big to pursue.

In recognition of her efforts, organisers of Pulotsav have chosen Barve along with film and theatre artiste Amey Wagh as recipients of the Tarunayi Sanman Award.

Noted actor Sachin Pilgaonkar will be awarded the Pulotsav Jeevan Gaurav Sanman, carrying Rs. 25,000, Puneri Pagdi, citation and memento, on November 12 at 6pm at Yashwantrao Chavan Natyragruha. Addressing a news conference today, festival organizer Virendra Chitrav said, "We try to keep up the youth spirit of the festival and that is why the Tarunai Sanman Award is an integral part of the event." The awardees will be given a Puneri Pagdi, citation, memento and Rs. 21,000.

Apart from various awards and cultural programmes, the festival will also see two symposia. "The first symposium called Chaar Sampadak (Four Editors), will involve a discussion about the lives and contributions of four editors whom we have lost in the past year. Veteran journalist and consulting editor of The Times of India Dileep Padgaonkar, former editor of Maharashtra Times, Govind Talwalkar, noted journalist and scriptwriter Arun Sadhu and eminent Marathi writer and journalist H.M. Marathe were considered the four pillars of media," Chitrav shared. Ravi Mukul, Rajiv Khandekar, Anand Agashe and Dinkar Gangal, all members of media industry, will participate in the discussion on November 11.

The second symposium, Shabda Prabhu PL, is a discussion about the love that PL Deshpande possessed for Marathi language and how he used it in his literary and theatre work. The 14th edition of Pulotsav will be held for four days between November 9 and 12.


Post a Comment